This Week I Liked…TOKYO!

21 Aug


This week I met my San Franciscan loves, J & P, in Tokyo- one of the coolest cities in the world.  We started off our Japanese adventure with Tokyo-tapas and a champagne toast- Kanpie! 乾杯!

C’est moi pretending to be lighthearted and carefree, while actually being trampled by the crowd in Shinjuku.  (Shinjuku is one of the major commercial centers in Tokyo & is also the location where Lost in Translation was filmed.)

J & P captured in a candid moment of violent romance.

J’s favorite lunch in a perfectly hidden Naka Meguro restaurant- rice bowl with ahi tuna, avocado and flavorful mayo.  I can only describe it as a happy dance for my taste-buds.

Beautifully decorated yarn store in the alleyways of Omotesando.

After a 2+ hour wait, J & I finally squeeze into a famous (& tiny) sushi bar in the Tsukiji Fish Market.  Food just doesn’t get better than this.

Enjoyed peeping into the colorful internal organs of these fake creatures.

Kirin beer, my new drink of choice.

G meets us in Tokyo and we all go out to my favorite pub district, Golden Gai (discovered during our last visit with E & J!  OUR BAR!).

I have many more stories from my trip to Japan, so prepare yourself for Tokyo Part II tomorrow!

2 Responses to “This Week I Liked…TOKYO!”

  1. Taylor Moseley Jewelry August 21, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Looks like a good time. It must be strange living somewhere so foreign!

    Ever since I saw “Samantha Brown’s Asian Vacation” about a year ago on TV, I have been wanting to go to all the Asian countries…

  2. J August 24, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    Favorite lunch is making my mouth water right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! To be catapulted back there…..

    Keep the tokyo pics coming. LOVE!

Leave a Reply

