Giving Thanks to My ABA

24 Nov

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite days of the year- the perfect time to celebrate life’s many blessings, including specifically, my dad.

 HAPPY BIRTHDAY ABA!

My dad is my greatest teacher.

From him I learned:

The difference between night and knight, write and right, and even right and wrong

The mystery of  , the usefulness of π, and the dream of infinite pie

The beauty of a topographic map (you just never know when the next time you’ll be stranded in the wilderness with nothing but a map & a compass to lead you back to civilization)

The greatness of Bach

The strength of a run-on sentence, especially when supported by a semi;colon (or two)

The importance of traveling often, especially to old cities with walls around them (and churches, Oh Maria Maria)

The healing powers of a long hike

The list of lessons goes on forever, but I’ll skip straight to the most important thing that my dad has ever taught me –

HOW TO LOVE.

My dad truly loves,

truly prioritizes,

truly supports

my mom, my brother, and me, every single day.

He has shown us the best kind of love, the type that has no limits; the perfect love that wraps you tight, even when you are oceans away…

My dad is my greatest teacher.

LAVU.

(Oh and he also helped me pass high school chemistry.  Maybe high school in general.)

P.S. Here is a little song just for you

2 Responses to “Giving Thanks to My ABA”

  1. Katie November 28, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Cutest baby ever!

  2. Eran December 6, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    Beautiful Piece

Leave a Reply

