Simple Bruschetta

30 Aug

Tomatoes are my favorite food.

I eat them every single day in salads, on toasts, like apples, and I’ve even been known to (often) eat an entire jar of tomato sauce with a spoon & a smile.

You think it’s sick?  I think it’s just right.

Anyway, with SO much tomato love, you can imagine my excitement when I encountered (devoured) this simply delicious bruschetta prepared by my friend S.

I’ve made this bruschetta a few times already because it’s incredibly easy, such a crowd pleaser, and can be made several hours before your guests arrive.

This week, I’ll be testing this recipe on G’s parents, who are visiting us in Seoul.

No pressure.

S’s SIMPLY DELICIOUS SIMPLE BRUSCHETTA

INGREDIENTS:
– About 12 cherry tomatoes
– 6 to 9 leaves of basil (I usually use 9+ leaves)
– 1 tsp minced garlic
– 2 heaping tbsp of extra virgin olive oil
– 1-2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (I prefer 2 tbsp, but it might be too acidic if your tomatoes aren’t sweet, so taste as you go)
– Salt and Pepper to taste
– Baguette or loaf of french bread
PREPARATION:
(1) Wash and de-seed tomatoes.
I am not super diligent about de-seeding because it doesn’t bother me if a bit of tomato juice remains.
(2) Dice tomatoes and place in a bowl.
I like cutting each tomato in half, and then cutting each half into 3 pieces, so that 1 cherry tomato yields 6 slices
(3) Cut the basil into thin ribbons (chiffonade) and place in the bowl.
(4) Add rest of the ingredients to the bowl.
(5) Mix, taste to season, and refrigerate.
(6) Remove bruschetta from the fridge about 15 minutes before guests are due to arrive
(7) Slice up the bread (diagonally) & serve
OR
(7)  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  As the oven is coming to temperature, slice the bread diagonally.
(8) Place slices on a sheet tray and drizzle with olive oil (optional).  Place tray in oven until bread begins to crisp.
For garlic lovers, rub a clove of garlic along the toasted bread for an additional kick.
– Serve immediately or at room temperature with bruschetta.

8 Responses to “Simple Bruschetta”

  1. frugalfeeding August 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    It looks and sounds awesome Thanks for sharing.

    • akonrad August 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      Thanks frugalfeeding – just checked out your blog & now looking forward to trying your Best Basic Tomatoe Sauce.

      • frugalfeeding August 30, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

        Oh cool. Glad you enjoyed. Hope you visit more too! It’s a really delicious sauce.

  2. tinkerbelle86 August 30, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    this is one of my favourite dinners 🙂

  3. MOM August 31, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    We wish you could prepare it for us too…Oh well, we had to go to ‘Sushi Bistro’ for some comfort and Summer Wrap ( It is cold in SF now, as you know, no pun intended )

    MOM

  4. BROTHER September 1, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Love Simki’s comment. Love you, sista.

    • akonrad September 1, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      Love the lovefest & YOU, my darling. Feels like the fam is sitting around a virtual dinner table, no?

Leave a comment